Couples going through a divorce in Massachusetts should conduct a basic annual credit health self-assessment to protect their most valuable financial assets: their good name.
Upon reaching the age of 18, your child is an adult, and laws such as HIPAA or Massachusetts confidentiality laws provide total protection of his or her privacy. Even if you are paying for your adult child's tuition and/or living expenses, your son or daughter is entitled to medical and financial privacy.
Both the marriage and divorce rates in Massachusetts are among the lowest in the country, according to statistics from the Centers for Disease Control. Over the past decade, the state's marriage rate has gradually decreased, from 6.2 percent in 2005 to 5.6 percent in 2014. The divorce rate, on the other hand, has increased, from 2.2 percent to 2.7 percent over that same period.
The Social Security system permits a divorced person in Massachusetts who is eligible for social security benefits to receive the greater of (a) a calculation based on 100% of his/her earned benefit amount, or (b) provided the parties were married for at least ten years, the claimant has not remarried, and the spouse is at least 62 years old, a calculation based on 50% of his/her ex-spouse's earned benefit amount.
Massachusetts does not recognize any rights for a couple that cohabit. This means that if you are in an unmarried relationship and it fails, you do not have the right to separate support, alimony, property division or claim for loss of consortium. Also, Massachusetts does not recognize "common law marriage".