Massachusetts employees know that you are entitled to a lunch break while at work. As a matter of fact, it’s Massachusetts law that workers have a right to at least a 30-minute meal break for each six hours worked in a calendar day. During this meal break workers are supposed to surrender all job duties and they can even leave the job site to take their lunch. It’s basically free time for the employee. In some companies, the meal break is unpaid.
According to a few internet sources, an employer can be fined $300-$600 for denying employees their meal breaks.
Massachusetts employees can work through their meal times but they must have an agreement with their employer to do this. If both parties agree and it’s a go, the employee will be paid.
If your employer is violating the Massachusetts meal break laws, contact the Law Offices of Renee Lazar at 978-844-4095 to schedule a FREE case evaluation.