A Massachusetts workplace law or rule that you may or may not have heard of in Massachusetts is the 3-Hour Rule. Sometimes unexpected things happen at work and you have to leave or are asked to leave prematurely. You may be wondering, what will happen with your pay for the hours you missed. According to Mass.gov, the 3-Hour Rule works in a way that you will receive some pay for the day. Here’s the law according to the website:
If you were scheduled to work for 3 hours or more and get sent home, your employer must pay you for at least 3 hours at least minimum wage. This does not apply to charitable organizations.
So, if you do get sent home, at least it’s not a complete wash financially speaking.
Should you be experiencing wage theft violations or subjected to discrimination at your Massachusetts workplace, contact the Law Offices of Renee Lazar at 978-844-4095 to schedule a FREE one hour no obligation consultation.